more about me

I was born in San Luis Potosi, Mexico just over thirty years ago. Though, the place of my birth is in a land locked state, I did a lot of my growing up in Brownsville, Texas, only a short drive from South Padre Island and the Gulf of Mexico. I very quickly became accustomed to vacations on the beach, fishing in the Laguna Madre, learning to surf in the warm waters off the jetties and enjoying the beauty of the beach. While I hesitate to claim that my upbringing revolved around the beach, I always had quite an affinity for the coast and a good majority of my family vacations growing up were always coastal focused, be it in Texas or Mexico. To this day those are some of my favorite places in the world.

As might be expected a lot of my extracurricular activities revolve around the coast. Fishing, kayaking, beachcombing, kite flying, sailing and snorkeling are all things I enjoy doing at the beach. However, my favorite aquatic activity is and I hope will always be surfing. While I’ve been participating in the sport for awhile, I am far from an “experienced” surfer but hope that my next destination will provide ample access to waves and surf.

In addition to water based activities, I’m a big fan of plenty of land based activities as well. I’ve done my fair share of running, cycling, hiking and rock climbing. In 2006 I completed my first Ironman triathlon in Tempe, Arizona and recently began a foray into the martial arts training in aikido and tae kwon do, practices I hope to continue.